top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

Detroit Sports Roundup, September 19, 2022

Detroit fans had a pretty good weekend.

Detroit Lions

The Lions' offense is the top story this week. While Jared Goff doesn't make all the throws, the playmakers around him make up for it. D'Andre Swift is the best running back I've watched. Before anyone panics, Barry Sanders played before my memory of games begins. So, Swift's play has been the best since then. Amon-Ra St.Brown was a steal. We got a record-breaking receiver in the fourth round. That doesn't happen to the Lions! His route-running is particularly good. He finds the holes in the defense.


Then, Aidan Hutchinson came to life this week. It's not fair to say he didn't play well during week one. Hutch had three sacks in the first half. He is far and away our best player on defense. I can't believe some scouts and analysts didn't believe he would translate to the NFL. If there is anything to worry about with him, it's that his motor is too high. He'll just run himself into the ground. It's a much better problem than the Lions have had in the past.


I also like Jeff Okudah this week. He's playing well. I hope he stays healthy.


The defense played well. The next step is to make in-game adjustments. The offense was able to this week, but the defense struggled against the changes Washington made at halftime. They found the soft spots and kept getting linemen and linebackers in coverage.


I'll admit, I started doing the "Here they go again routine" in the third quarter. When Washington marched down the field, and the Lions went three and out, I thought it was over. History of watching the Lions said it was over. But, maybe, just maybe, Dan Campbell and company are exorcising these habits.


Michigan Wolverines

There's not much to say. The Wolverines beat UConn by a large margin, as expected. I don't like it when the Wolverines have three easy games to start the year because it makes them hard to gauge. I wish they had at least one semi-talented team in the mix or had to go on the road. I miss the Notre Dame rivalry, not that it would help this year, but having one early game that matters is good. Penn State has played a few crucial games already. Michigan State also had a big game. They lost that game, but at least fans know where they stand. I think Michigan is good. I like J.J. McCarthy and company, especially the defense and running game. We'll see who the Wolverines are as they enter conference play.


Detroit Pistons and Russell Westbrook and Tanking

No. No. No. I do not want Russell Westbrook. Sure, if they can get a first-round pick or two and buy him out. I don't want him. We have plenty of good guards on this team that need playing time to develop. Just, no.


I don't want to see the Pistons tank this season. We should model our rebuild off of Golden State's and not Philadelphia's. The 76ers tanked for years, and it has resulted in some trips to the second round of the playoffs. Golden State never tanked, and it has resulted in multiple championships. Now, I don't want to get a bunch of three-point shooters. I like the team the Pistons have. I don't care what the Detroit media and "media" say about it. We've gotten three-point shooters in the past who don't contribute in any other way.


Jodie Meeks

Langston Galloway

Tony Snell


You guys freaked out about how awesome it would be to have "THESE" guys. I don't care what you think.


Detroit Tigers

Meh. There is always next year. More players are getting shut down. I hope Miguel Cabrera returns to the lineup this season if he plans to retire. He deserves a standing ovation at Comerica Park.


For more material, click here to see all previous sports-related posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.






Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page