top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

NFL Wildcard Weekend Preview and Predictions

The NFL wrapped up its first 17 game season. It was certainly one of the wildest seasons fans have had the privilege of watching. Wildcard weekend should hopefully continue this trend. Most games this weekend should be pretty fun, but I have a few that I think are must-watch and some predictions. These are invalid if Covid protocols cause key players to miss the games.


Raiders/Bengals

Saturday at 4:30 on Fox

Odds: Bengals -5

I think the Bengals will win this game. While that is not guaranteed, I do like Bengal's offense with Joe Burrow, Ja'Marr Chase, and Joe Mixon. This is assuming everyone is healthy and no Covid protocols enacted. While the Raiders season was filled with turmoil, they managed to work their way into the playoffs. While that is a great story, I think the younger Bengals will just be too much for them. Burrow has the opportunity to show that he is an elite quarterback. Derek Carr is still trying to prove that he is elite. It just seems like one team is hanging on while the other is ascending. The Raiders actually remind me of the Lions team that played the Seahawks on Wildcard Weekend. The Seahawks were a legitimate playoff team and the Lions were not. I think we could see a repeat of that here.


Patriots/Bills

Saturday at 8:15 on CBS

Odds: Bills -4

You know, I'd like to think Josh Allen and the Bills get it done and cement themselves as the dominant AFC East team and the Patriots are the ones always chasing and coming up short. But Bill Belichick still coaches in New England. This game might be the best of the weekend and one that sets a precedent going forward. Who is the top dog in this division? I think the Bills win, but I feel like a fool saying that. Does the rookie Mac Jones rekindle the Patriots dynasty or does Josh Allen take a step forward and get the Bills a little closer to that top-tier conversation?


Eagles/Buccaneers

Sunday at 1:00 on Fox

Odds: Buccaneers -9.5

Tom Brady and the Buccaneers win outright. While I don't think they are the favorites in the NFC, the only team superior to them isn't playing this weekend. The defending champs should roll over the Eagles. Perhaps this could even be a little bit of a revenge game for Brady for one of his Super Bowl losses. I don't expect it to be a great game. Perhaps the Eagles will surprise everyone.


49ers/Cowboys

Sunday at 4:30 on CBS

Odds: Cowboys -3

After seeing what the 49ers did to the Rams last weekend, I wouldn't count them out in this matchup. In fact, I think this should be the upset alert for the weekend. It could be the biggest surprise of the weekend as well. Jimmy G looked great even with the injury on Sunday. Furthermore, the 49ers' defense is still elite. They carried this mediocre offense to the Super Bowl a few years ago, and while I wouldn't take them much farther than this, I think they can beat the Cowboys. Also, I'll be rooting for them because screw the Cowboys, am I right?


Steelers/Chiefs

Sunday at 8:15 on NBC

Odds: Chiefs -12.5

The Steelers managed to keep the magic going for Big Ben. It ends in this round. The Chiefs are most likely Super Bowl-bound. The way they finished this season hints at their possible return. Furthermore, it isn't always a bad idea to go with the better quarterback. I just don't think the Steelers can keep up with Mahomes and the Chiefs' offense. I just hope that Roethlisberger can put up a fight during what may be his last chapter as an NFL player.




Cardinals/Rams

Monday at 8:15 on ESPN

Odds: Rams -4

Both of these teams have baffled me this year. They pull out a win when I've given up on them and lose a crucial game when I start to believe in them. Neither are on the same level as the Buccaneers or Packers, but either could be the next up. Whoever pulls out the big win this week will most likely fall on their face next week. I want the Rams to win because I really like Matt Stafford. Much like in his days as a Lion, he couldn't seal the big game at the end of the season. The 49ers' defense was impressive, but you can't give up leads like that. Stafford got his first divisional title through a Cardinals loss, and I think he is going to get his first playoff win the same way. This, I feel like, is Stafford's big chance to prove the doubters wrong. If he doesn't, he'll make a doubter out of everyone else. The Rams were my preseason Super Bowl pick, but I have my doubts going forward.


For more material like this, click here to see all previous sports-related posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page