top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

It's the best time of the year. I know fans and pundits frequently claim that April is the best time of year for sports, but the fall deserves that title. Football is back, baseball is heating up, and basketball is just around the corner.

College Football and the Wolverines

College football had a stellar opening weekend. Georgia looks like the team to beat, but I'm hopeful about the Michigan Wolverines returning to the college football playoff. I know their schedule isn't particularly strong, but that can change. Penn State looked good in their opening game against Purdue. Penn State may become a ranked opponent by the time they play the Wolverines in October. Of course, a victory in Columbus would solidify their position. Jim Harbaugh needs another playoff season to really sell Michigan to recruits. The program could return to its former glory if they keep making the playoffs.


The NFL

The NFL opens this week with a Bills versus Rams matchup. The battle in the AFC should take center stage this year, with the Chiefs, Bills, Chargers, Bengals, Broncos, Ravens, and Titans duking it out for the top spot. The NFC will likely see the Rams, Bucs, and Packers as the frontrunners. The best part is that a new underdog team could step up this season. The Bengals' Super Bowl run came out of nowhere. Some team could make that jump this season.




The Detroit Lions

So, I'm a pitiful Lions fan. No matter how much they disappoint me, I come back every year. The Lions were featured on Hard Knocks this year, giving fans an extra dose of preseason programming. The Lions could be a surprise. However, I think the hype surrounding them is overblown. Let us not ignore the lesson from the Detroit Tigers' hype this year. While I don't expect the Lions to be that bad, I don't want to see fans get their hopes up too high. Building a winning program after 50 years of poor management cannot be done overnight. Dan Campbell and company will likely have to take baby steps. If the Lions win six of seven games this year, that should be considered a success.


The Detroit Tigers

I don't want to waste too much time worrying about the Detroit Tigers. I hope the September callups play well. I'm pulling for Spencer Torkelson and Ryan Kreidler. It's a sad state in Tigertown when I turn on the game to see if certain players can get a hit. I like Akil Baddoo, but I think it's time for both parties to move on.

The Detroit Pistons

After preaching caution about the Lions, I want to hype up the Pistons. I know most predict that the Pistons will have another bad season, but I disagree. I've heard talks of another tank. I don't think this team can tank on purpose. The players that Troy Weaver has assembled won't tolerate it.


Are they a playoff team? I think they have the talent for it. The Pistons seem to be the only team not being hyped up in Detroit this year, but I think they have the most reason to be. Cade Cunningham, Jaden Ivey, and Saddiq Bey should ask, "Why not us?" The greatest Pistons teams refused to wait in line. I expect this team to follow suit.


So, tis' the season. Enjoy.


For more material, click here to see all previous sports-related posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page