top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

The Pistons Need to Look at these Questions Down the Stretch


While I think the Pistons underperformed this season, many expected them to have a lot of garbage time at this point in the season. As everyone that follows basketball knows this part of the season is important for looking towards next season. There are some questions that need to be addressed and that give these games meaning.


Do the Pistons Resign Marvin Bagley III?

I think this question has already been answered. We need to keep this guy. He has played well and shown flashes of being worth a lottery pick selection, (still not ahead of Luka Doncic of Trae Young), but still! He seems to fit perfectly with Cade Cunningham and Killian Hayes. He runs the floor and, as Troy Weaver said, he is the right age to continue to develop with this current core.

Does Jerami Grant fit with this team in his current role?

I don't think he fits as the primary scorer. I think, with the current makeup, he should be the third option. I believe that Cade and Saddiq Bey should be the first two options on offense going forward. Both have the physicality to get tough shots off and make better decisions with the basketball. I don't intend this as an insult to Grant, but I think he is a guy that can score within the confines of the offense. He isn't a go-to scorer. His mid-range and catch-and-shoot abilities are phenomenal. If he's okay with that role, then he can fit. If not, I think the asking price should remain at 2 First Round picks.


Is the biggest need a shooting guard or a center?

I think this comes down to how the first two questions are answered. I think it's time for Cade to move to the point and Cory Joseph to move to another team, or at least to the bench. That would make the shooting guard position open. Diallo could fit the position, but is he better coming off the bench? Is Stewart more of a 4? How does that work with the current construction? Could Stewart and Bagley play together? I think the rebounding would be much improved. If that's the case, the next grab needs to be an efficient shooting guard. By efficient, I mean someone that doesn't need to control the ball to score, someone with more catch and shoot abilities along with 1-2 dribble scoring moves. Cade is a distrubutor. Putting finishers around him is the best move.

Are guys like Garza, Lee, Smith, and Pickett part of the future?

I think it's time to see if they are part of the future. Giving them some meaningful minutes would go a long way in evaluation. I for sure think all four could contribute in the future. I think Saben Lee is better than Killian Hayes. Now, that is based on more than shooting. Hayes is a slightly better defender and a much better passer but lacks the offensive game to be a solid off the bench contributor. Lee has a more tempo-changing style, and I prefer that in backup point guards. I think Garza can play at the NBA level. If he continues to make the strides he has this season through the off-season, I'd fully expect for him to compete for minutes next season. Smith and Pickett are both interesting as well. Pickett has a good catch-and-shoot ability and Smith is a big that can handle the ball and play from the outside. I'd say, let's roll the dice down the stretch.


For more material like this, click here to see all previous sports-related posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page