top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

The "same old Lions" moniker will take time to shed


The Lions continue to struggle. Now, "Hard Knocks" elevated expectations far beyond what is realistic. I don't want to become the ultimate Lions pessimist, but they make it difficult. The creativity that the Lions have for losing is a distinctive art form. So, what are the biggest takeaways?


Dan Campbell is still learning how to coach

The decision-making and in-game adjustments this season have been insufficient. Campbell is charismatic and likable. I think he gets the best out of his players. However, the onside kick in week one and the fourth down decisions this week may have cost us a couple of wins. I get being aggressive, but why did he abandon it in the most crucial part of the game this week?


Jared Goff is a game-manager

Simple as that. Goff won't win you any games. He won't lose you any games. With Goff at quarterback, the Lions rely on playmakers. This game plan isn't bad when the playmakers are put in a position to succeed. Running Jamaal Williams to the outside on 4th down isn't putting him in a position to succeed.


Amon-Ra St. Brown is that guy

This guy was an absolute steal. I hope he doesn't go on the long list of extreme talents that waste their career in Detroit. He's phenomenal.


There is work to do on defense

The Lions' defense is just not good. They rely heavily on Aidan Hutchinson. Hutch didn't make any big plays this week, but with the injury and teams game planning for him more and more, the reality is that others will have to make plays.


There is still good football ahead

The Lions will compete this season. As Campbell and Hutchinson adjust, the team will improve. We can't expect fireworks every week. I'm interested in seeing how this team responds to adversity. Will the "same-old-Lions" mentality creep in and slow down the team's momentum?


The Lions have to start winning these types of games. This season is about progress. So, will they give in when they get into this situation again, and the "same-old-Lions" feeling starts knocking? If we see it again, my vote is on yes. If we see it again, I'll know it's all smoke and mirrors. I'll know I saw what I wanted to be true rather than evaluating with sober judgment. The road to recovery is going to be difficult. The Lions have tricked me many times. I hope one day, I'll say "same-old-Lions," and they'll prove me wrong.


For more material, click here to see all previous sports-related posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page