top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

Red Wings 2024 Offseason Priorities

I'm a novice to hockey and the NHL. It's a new passion for me. I started watching two years ago while on tour. I wanted to watch the Pistons game, but it was blacked out because I was in New York, and the Pistons were playing the Knicks. The contract offered Hulu (with ESPN+ channels). I looked for another option and figured I'd check out the Red Wings game. So, here I was in my actor housing watching the Red Wings, and the sport excited me in a way that basketball hadn't in a long time. For more information about that, refer to one of my many articles about the futility of the Pistons.


But I wanted to take my shot at writing about the Red Wings offseason after an entertaining 2024 campaign. I'd be remiss if I didn't shout out the Winged Wheel Podcast for quickly elevating my general knowledge of the Red Wings and hockey.


#1: Extend Lucas Raymond and Moritz Seider

Everything I've read about the Red Wings since the end of the season starts here. Extending these two young stars for long term as the cap rises solidifies the core and provides long-term cap flexibility.


#2: Decide What To Do With Free Agents

Bringing back Patrick Kane sounds great to me. He's fun to watch and makes big plays. The question is whether or not the team can afford it. The main priority, as stated above, is locking up Raymond and Seider. Then, the team needs a top-six goal scorer. So, how many veterans can the team bring back while leaving space to add a difference-maker? David Perron could be an option, although a cheaper one. He's expressed interest in returning, and his veteran leadership seems significant to the team's young core. The other free agent is Joe Veleno. I'm fifty/fifty on Veleno. The team may need to use that spot for a prospect to develop.


#3: Manage the Prospect Pool

Several organizations have reported the Red Wings prospect pool as one of the NHL's best. How many players can realistically join the big club without setting the team too far back in terms of competitiveness? Simon Edvinsson seems like a lock after his finish to the season. Albert Johansson is another name being floated around. He can't go back down again without clearing waivers. Jonatan Berggren falls into that camp as well. The plus side is that both players could help with cap problems. Neither player will create a big cap hit, and if they play in Detroit, more prospects will see increased ice time in Grand Rapids. Other players competing for roster spots include Carter Mazur, Nate Danielson, and Marco Kasper. Of course, any surprises in development would be welcome, as they are with any sport.


#4: Get Consistent Goalie Play

Whether this comes from free agency or trade, it needs to happen. I don't expect any prospects to be ready next year. I like the idea of keeping Alex Lyon and pairing him with another goalie. Ville Husso is under contract for a while longer, so he'll either need to be bought out (not a chance considering other contracts like Justin Holl and Andrew Copp) or traded as a part of a deal to add a goalie (or goal-scoring winger).


#5: Get a Top Six Goal Scorer

This idea speaks for itself. Get someone to finish plays. Dylan Larkin, Lucas Raymond, and Alex DeBrincat facilitate as much as they score. These players would be well served by playing with an elite finisher.


Conclusion

This offseason is significant for the Yzerplan. The team has many problems to solve, but I don't think that should discourage fans. Perhaps a good way to explain the situation is in relation to the other Detroit teams. The team is ahead of the Tigers' rebuild but far behind the Lions. How they manage the cap, incorporate up to five rookies, and stay competitive remains to be seen. They may take a step back next year to improve 3-5 years from now. However, they shouldn't go too far back. Keeping some veterans and adding players to create a more competitive roster is better for the younger players on the team. I think Steve Yzerman will find a way to incorporate the prospects and keep the team competitive.


For more material, click here to see all previous sports-related posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page