top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

Barbarian Review: The Art of the Trailer


Barbarian, written and directed by Zach Cregger, has a WTF feeling. It has something to say about society but doesn't take itself seriously. The film creates an uncomfortable atmosphere. At our feeling, the audience frequently commented and laughed at HORRIBLE things. The film had images that will never leave me (the water tower, IYKYK).


The first big twist was surprising, leading to the film's best part. The trailer made the experience stellar. In a summer of horror films that gave away the entire plot, Barbarian had enough to interest me but not so much that I knew what happened. The Invitation had an exciting style, but the trailer gave the entire film away.


Horror relies heavily on the combination of mystery, shock, and commentary. If a film misses one of these elements, it cannot be an authentic horror experience. This film's combination of mystery and shock sets it apart for 2022. It creates real tension because anything can happen. Sometimes, you can see it's going to happen, want it to stop, but can't. Even then, I couldn't believe they chose to put it on the screen. Indeed, some things disturbed me more than anything else I've seen this year. The commentary is interesting and subtly put into the film.


The best part was the communal experience of audible commentary and laughter. In one scene, a character did a stupid thing, and I threw my hands up. The person behind me laughed. Several times, someone said, "nope."


While the film isn't revolutionary, the experience was great.


4/5


Ratings:

5: Life-changing

4: Great experience

3: Solid popcorn flick

2: I wish I was at home.

1: Humankind is a distinct evil that never deserved to be here


For more material, click here to see all previous Entertainment posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page