top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

Dr. Strange: Marvel's Most Metal Character

Updated: Jan 21, 2021


Dr. Strange is the Marvel Cinematic Universe's most metal character. He dies in a multitude of painful ways to save the universe, but I'm getting ahead of myself. Dr. Strange (2016) shares a story about an arrogant and selfish doctor that is forced to become a humble and selfless sorcerer. Personally, I love this movie. I love the idea of becoming at peace with my body through achieving spiritual and mental balance. Dr. Strange, played by Benedict Cumberbatch, learns this lesson in a riches to rags story. He loses everything in his life, and in doing so, learns what is of real value: People, time, and the natural world.


Cucumbersnatch is joined by Chiwetel Ejiofor (English), Rachel McAdams (Canadian), Benedict Wong (English), Mads Mikkelson (Danish), and Tilda Swinton (Scottish). I don't think there is an actor that turns in a lack-luster performance, however, they are all outdone by Dr. Strange's cloak, The Cloak of Levitation. This is a stunning example of giving an object a creative personality. The cloak is Cabbagepatch's character's most trusted ally. He saves Dr. Strange multiple times and has the biggest comedic scenes in the film as well.

I don't think anyone should discuss Dr. Strange without discussing the crazy visuals. Every time I watch it, I catch new details. This time I noticed one of the disturbing images in the sequence through the multiverse was literally walls of Strange's face. Then, lest we forget, we had the disgusting fingers growing hands leading into a barrage of hands engulfing Strange into another part of the multiverse. Of all the possibilities in the multiverse, I hope never to be swimming in hands. Let's be honest here. I hope I never have to swim in anything other than water. Later on, we see time in reverse and time frozen. These are some of the craziest sequences in the whole MCU. Also, there is something terribly satisfying about watching things be put back together. Unfortunately, I can't help but think about how the Time Stone is used in Infinity War (2018) while watching the climactic scene, but oh well.


Then, Dr. Strange goes through his training montage. He must learn to let go of control. Intellect can do a lot for us, however, at some point, we need to trust in the spirit. Of course, this type of thing is cool to me because it is also heavily featured in Star Wars, but I'll leave that where it is. I'd rather compare it to the Four Brothers in the Michael Chekhov Acting Technique. Strange has perfect Form and Whole, but he has no Ease. Until he lets go of his attachment to the material world and trusts in himself rather than things and his own knowledge, he is able to achieve and experience things that his previous worldview could not fathom.


Even after letting these things go, he is still attached to his ego. He has to let go of his ego and replace it with a new one. He changes from self-centered to other-centered. It takes him the entire film to come to this realization. The Ancient One gives him a simple lesson, one we could all refer to from time to time, "It's not about you." I know it seems simple, but I don't think it is. We all chase thing after thing, whether it be career goals, relationships, or plain material things. We are never really fulfilled by these things unless they are tied to something outside of ourselves. It's not about me. It's about other people.


Quick Hits

  • Free Hong Kong

  • Time stone shows up. Only one stone left.

  • The post-credits scene is with Thor (A little teaser to Ragnorak !!!!!!)

  • The mid-credits scene sets up a future villain with Mordo

  • Stan Lee's cameo is a bus passenger laughing at some book about Chakra's (I think).

  • Tilda Swinton's performance is incredible.

  • It shouldn't go without mention how funny this movie is.

  • They set up the logic for time travel in Endgame. Mordo states that Strange's antics with the Eye of Agamotto could open a new branch in time.

  • "Try me Beyonce"

  • 'The warnings come after the spells"

  • "It's the WiFi password. We're not savages"

I love the whole Dormammu scene. It is the accumulation of his new understanding of the world. In the end, Dr. Strange doesn't have to win. Instead, he makes sure that everyone else wins. He saves the world because he gives up control and surrenders his ego. I'm a sucker for these stories, I really am. They use all of the magic as a red herring to the real lessons. The real lesson is about being a good human. The magic is just a fun package to wrap the lesson in.


I love the whole Dormammu scene. It is the accumulation of his new understanding of the world. In the end, Dr. Strange doesn't have to win. Instead, he makes sure that everyone else wins. He saves the world because he gives up control and surrenders his ego. I'm a sucker for these stories, I really am. They use all of the magic as a red herring to the real lessons. The real lesson is about being a good human. The magic is just a fun package to wrap the lesson in.

I love the whole Dormammu scene. It is the accumulation of his new understanding of the world. In the end, Dr. Strange doesn't have to win. Instead, he makes sure that everyone else wins. He saves the world because he gives up control and surrenders his ego. I'm a sucker for these stories, I really am. They use all of the magic as a red herring to the real lessons. The real lesson is about being a good human. The magic is just a fun package to wrap the lesson in.

I love the whole Dormammu scene. It is the accumulation of his new understanding of the world. In the end, Dr. Strange doesn't have to win. Instead, he makes sure that everyone else wins. He saves the world because he gives up control and surrenders his ego. I'm a sucker for these stories, I really am. They use all of the magic as a red herring to the real lessons. The real lesson is about being a good human. The magic is just a fun package to wrap the lesson in.

I love the whole Dormammu scene. It is the accumulation of his new understanding of the world. In the end, Dr. Strange doesn't have to win. Instead, he makes sure that everyone else wins. He saves the world because he gives up control and surrenders his ego. I'm a sucker for these stories, I really am. They use all of the magic as a red herring to the real lessons. The real lesson is about being a good human. The magic is just a fun package to wrap the lesson in.



For more material like this, click here to see all previous Marvel posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page