top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

Everything Everywhere All at Once: A message that annoys me but shouldn't


Here's another film we saw recently. While I loved the visuals and most of the story, I had a reject response to the message of the film.


The story itself is about a multiverse based on every decision you make and being able to tap into those abilities through doing improbable things. I thought the worldbuilding of the story was incredible. Additionally, I loved the visual choices and creativity. The storytellers, Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, found plenty of ways to surprise and disturb the audience. The physical storytelling was incredibly funny. I thought it was the best physical comedy I've seen in a film this year.


Now, the message of the film annoys me. The whole "we find happiness in being kind to others" and "being a pushover or kind) is a power of itself" message just never sits well with me. It assumes that, given the chance, people generally want everyone else to be happy. I just feel like they didn't do enough to get me to buy that. I saw it coming earlier in the film, but couldn't buy the "It's a Wonderful Life" message wrapped in the "2001: Space Odyssey" packaging. The beautiful meaning of life with the vast emptiness of our reality side by side didn't move me in the way I wished it would. The film tries to simultaneously posit that we are meaningless specks and that we can find meaning through kindness. It felt as if my philosophy 101 professor wrote a Hallmark film.


Now, I did enjoy the film. The acting, directing, and storytelling are all excellent. Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu deliver excellent performances. They really hit the broad range of drama to slapstick comedy with deftness. The script, too, is excellent. I loved the witty dialogue.

Don't let my total disgust of feel-good movies deter you from your enjoyment. I really liked this film, but I can't stand the message. If you can't tolerate movies that end through moralist lectures, then this isn't for you. However, if it doesn't bother you, the creative storytelling, stunning visuals, brilliant comedy, and stellar performances make this worth watching.


For more material like this, click here to see all previous Entertainment posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

bottom of page