top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

Movie Review Roundup: Beast, Invitation, Crawdads, Three Thousand Years

So, I've gotten behind with reviewing the movies I've seen this year! The Regal Unlimited has served me well. So, I'm going to run through a few quickly.

Beast

Starring Idris Elba, Beast is not what I expected. I expected an over-the-top action flick. While it did have its absurd lion-punching moments, the film grounded itself in a family drama. A fun experience on the big screen with strong acting and beautiful cinematography, Beast, was worth the trip to the theater.





The Invitation

I had higher hopes for The Invitation. While the style was fun and did have a contemporary understanding of vampires as a critique of the wealthy sucking the life out of the community, it lacked surprise. All films rely on tension, but horror depends on it more than any other genre. Knowing the Dracula story and seeing the trailer, the film has no surprises. It does have one scene that creates significant discomfort. The ladies are getting pedicures during a verbal dispute. The use of sounds with the conflict of the dialogue created strong tension.


Where the Crawdads Sing

There are so many beautiful things about this film. It had one of the strongest atmospheres I've seen this year. The composition of the scenes drew me in. I think the director, Olivia Newman, did an excellent job of making "the marsh" a character. The audience felt like an outsider like Kya. By the way, Daisy Edgar-Jones is quickly becoming one of my favorite actors. I watched Under the Banner of Heaven a few days before seeing Crawdads. Just wow.


Three Thousand Years of Longing

A story about stories, Three Thousand Years of Longing is paradoxically one of this year's most original films. Using stories and magic, George Miller weaves a beautiful story about love and loneliness. Idris Elba and Tilda Swinton help draw the audience into a meta-story about finding love in stories. The audience loses sight of the larger story developing in the background because the film draws their attention to the vignettes. I'm looking forward to seeing this again someday.


Hopefully, we will get back to posting reviews quicker!


For more material, click here to see all previous Entertainment posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page