top of page
  • Writer's pictureChad Marriott

The Marvel Complaints and Responses are Annoying; Like what you Like.

Updated: Jan 21, 2021

Recently, Martin Scorsese and Francis Ford Coppola heavily critiqued the Marvel Cinematic Universe. A lot of time and effort has been spent trying to prove them wrong. I am not particularly interested in defaming or attacking either of these historically great directors or defending the Marvel films. I like the Marvel flicks and I like a small number of Scorsese’s films and I like the Godfather Part 1 and 2.


So, what is my problem? Honestly, when Avengers Endgame came out, it felt like Marvel fans were having a global party in celebration of the culmination of a project that never should have happened. The party was free for anyone to join. Welcome, all. We have Norse gods, a cynical talking raccoon, a giant green rage monster dabbing, a Superman-like alien feminist, the king of Wakanda, and of course a genius, billionaire, playboy, philanthropist. Then, a couple of people showed up to the party. They walked to the center of the room, pulled down their pants, and began defecating uncontrollably on the dance floor. Sorry, Quill.



So, you must be wondering, “What’s your point? Can’t we critique the films?” There is a significant difference between critique and belittlement. I think the critique of the Marvel villains has been fruitful for the films. The villains have gotten better over time. It is the difference between saying, “Marvel struggles with creating compelling villains” versus “I don’t like Marvel’s villains; therefore, they should stop making those movies.”


The lesson here is not to stop critiquing, but if you do not like something, why are you still talking about it? I know I am personally guilty of this. I used to rail against Macbeth. It is considered one of the greatest plays ever written, but I do not like it. True, I have the right to go around whining about it. Does that mean that I should? No. If people like that play, I should just let them enjoy it.


Some people will say in response to this, “But Chad some people like cocaine. Should we just let them do cocaine? It is bad for them!” Okay. Two issues: First, I know you did not just compare going to see a play or movie to doing a hard drug. Second, prove to me how Marvel films are detrimental to my health. If you argue that it increases my popcorn and soda intake, that is fine. You could simply recommend that I consume less popcorn and soda. That claim, however, does not prove that the films are bad for me. Any attempt to prove that Marvel films are bad for me is subjective. There is no objective evidence to prove that assertion.


This obsession with objectivism is the main issue I have with the critiques coming out. There is no such thing as objectively good art. If anyone has a definition that does not reek of their subjective thoughts and opinions, I am glad to hear it. Honestly. All art is subjective.


Of course, if we listen to Scorsese, Marvel is not art because it does not take any risks. So, art requires risk. Go back 12 years to when Kevin Feige pitched the idea of a cinematic universe with “B characters.” Was that not a risk? Well, the critics would say that Marvel makes the same movie over and over again; It is super formulaic.


SPOILER ALERT


All movies are just different versions of the same seven stories. Shakespeare wrote versions of stories that had already been told. The Comedy of Errors is the third iteration of that story (That we know of). How many of Shake’s plays feature the Braggart Soldier? Oh no, FalTobRolles got himself in some type of predicament. Why change the formula if it works?


Now, is it fair to compare Marvel to Shakespeare’s works? In terms of success and criticism? Yes. They are both extremely popular. Several of Shakespeare’s contemporaries critiqued him for being some poor, untalented, hick boy. Robert Greene and Ben Jonson famously insulted Shakespeare. Now, Marvel and Shakespeare are not artistic equivalents. I dare not say that lest I prepare me for the fiery insurgency of tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow. Sorry guys, I have plans this weekend.


I get it. Scorsese wishes that the movies he made were still the most popular thing. He laments that “art” has moved from the big screen. Read his explanation of it all [here]


Well, artists can sit around and complain about the changing landscape of storytelling if they want. Or, they can just deal with it. The accessibility of great stories audiences receive from the comfort of their home is hard for artists to overcome. It is our job as artists to make it happen. It is hard to listen to Scorsese, with his position and reach, to complain about streaming services.


I have worked with some Shakespeare companies that have nowhere near the same access as Scorsese. These companies, however, still find ways to get their art out there. So, suck it up, Scorsese. Keep making your art, and people that want that type of art will find it. Do not worry about controlling the tastes of the viewing public. Advertise and promote what’s good about your art rather than complaining about what you do not like about the art of others.


To sum up, if you do not like something that a bunch of other people really enjoy, just smile and nod. I used to call D&D “that damn game.” I am done doing that. I am sure that the game is fun, and what can I achieve by saying that I do not enjoy the game? Attempt to crush the joy of other human beings for my personal satisfaction? Sure, but that would make me a jerk.


So, I guess what I am critiquing is our country’s constant need to complain about what other people like. Why can’t we celebrate that people find things that they are passionate about? Ask someone to tell you why they like it. Stop waiting for the moment to pounce on someone to critique their passion. If you really, in your heart, find someone’s passion morally abhorrent, maybe you just do not talk about that subject with them. Did it hurt you to let someone else enjoy something? If it did, maybe you are the one with an issue.


I like the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I like watching the Detroit Pistons. I like going to watch the performances of Shakespeare's plays. I like what I like and I am done trying to make people dislike things I dislike. Come to the party, but please don’t crap on the dance floor.


For more material like this, click here to see all previous Marvel posts. Also, consider subscribing or following us on Facebook or Instagram so you never miss an update.


9 views0 comments
bottom of page